Friday, November 19, 2021

And Here It Is!

 And the Crows Took Their Eyes is one of five finalists for the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Prize, the winner to be announced in December! This is a Big Deal to me because it's a validation for the many years of research and writing that went into this book of my heart.

Below is information from the email I received. Crows is such good company--it's an honor to be included!

The WNC Historical Association presented the first Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award to Wilma Dykeman in 1955 for The French Broad. Last year the winner was Dr. Sandra Muse Isaacs for her nonfiction work, Eastern Cherokee Stories: A Living Oral Tradition And Its Cultural Continuance. Others who have received the award include Wiley Cash, John Ehle, Charles Frazier, Gail Godwin, Michael McFee, Robert Morgan, Ron Rash, Fiona Ritchie, and Lee Smith.


This year’s five finalists were chosen from a wide range of original nominations. Listed alphabetically by author last name, they are:

Mary Othella Burnette

Lige of the Black Walnut Tree: Growing Up Black in Southern Appalachia

 Wayne Caldwell


 Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle

Even As We Breathe: A Novel

Vicki Lane

And the Crows Took Their Eyes

 Matthew Wimberley

All the Great Territories


The award ceremony will take place via Zoom this year on Thursday, December 9 from 6:30pm – 8:00pm via Zoom. .


Barbara R. said...

Yay to you and your hard work! I do hope you win this prize.

Sandra Parshall said...

This is fabulous and so well deserved! Congratulations!

Marcia said...

Wow! It was such a moving book. I hope you win. I keep it on my bookshelf to read again. Fingers crossed for you!

JJM said...

Wow!!! That is utterly fantastic, Vicki! Congratulations, and so very much deserved!

Anvilcloud said...

I can scarcely imagine one of the other books being favoured over yours. Much of it stays with me, which is quite a compliment.